Writers Can Be Funny Too

I myself love humor, especially when I can connect to it on deeper level. Just kidding, I love a good joke any day, deep meaning be slugged. Writers, as you may not have been aware of, are capable of some pretty decent humor. Don’t believe me? Well I counter you with these…

From now on, ending a sentence with a preposition is something up with which I will not put.
– Winston Churchill

“I love deadlines. I love the whooshing noise they make as they go by.” Douglas Adams

I wrote a few children’s books. Not on purpose.
– Steven Wright

If Moses were alive today he’d come down from the mountain with the Ten Commandments and spend the next five years trying to get them published.
– Anonymous

If the English language made any sense, lackadaisical would have something to do with a shortage of flowers.
– Doug Larson

I was sorry to hear my name mentioned as one of the great authors, because they have a sad habit of dying off. Chaucer is dead, so is Milton, so is Shakespeare, and I am not feeling very well myself.
– Mark Twain

The world is a hellish place, and bad writing is destroying the quality of our suffering.
– Tom Waits

An autobiography usually reveals nothing bad about its writer except his memory.
– Franklin P. Jones

Take that, all you doubters in the funniness of writers! Obviously I am not a great one since I just said ‘doubters in the funniness of writers’, but I’m getting there!

 

I feel like I’m forgetting something…….

 

Leave a Reply

